Many residential aged care providers remain uncertain as to how to accurately classify and report SIRS incidents to the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission. Organisations are also continuing to adjust to the new incident management system requirements and review their approach to complying with the SIRS.

To assist services in these areas, MOA has developed an Incident Reporting module that provides subscribers with a platform to enter, monitor and review incidents that are reportable under the SIRS. Users of the module can log, view, and develop reports that assist in:

  • Detailing the incident
  • Understanding how and why the incident happened
  • Reviewing what can be done to reduce the risk of recurrence and support safer care
  • Understanding what was learned from the incident
  • Sharing the learnings

The MOA module also features guidance on Priority classification, using the information you have entered to classify your incident as Priority 1 or Priority 2.


Additionally, providers can now access our SIRS Incident Review SPOT tool that enables on-the-go assessments of reportable incidents to ensure they are being managed and documented in line with SIRS requirements.


Please contact the MOA Team to add a free one-month trial of the Incident Reporting Module to your MOA subscription.



More information about the SIRS

The SIRS has been introduced in response to the findings of the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety, to help reduce the risk of abuse and neglect of older Australians residing in aged care services. The SIRS has formalised requirements for approved providers of residential aged care to manage, and take appropriate action to prevent, incidents, giving priority to the health, well-being, safety and quality of life of aged care consumers.

For providers of residential care, the SIRS took effect in two stages. Stage 1, which commenced 1 April 2021, requires providers of residential aged care and flexible care in residential settings to report Priority 1 incidents within 24 hours of becoming aware of the incident. As of 1 October 2021, all reportable incidents must be assessed as either Priority 1 or Priority 2 incidents, and services need to report all Priority 2 reportable incidents to the Aged Care Commission within 30 days of becoming aware of the incident. The SIRS is also set to expand into home and community-based care from 1 July 2022.

The SIRS requires the reporting of eight types of incidents:

  • Unreasonable use of force
  • Unlawful sexual contact or inappropriate sexual conduct
  • Neglect of a consumer
  • Psychological or emotional abuse
  • Unexpected death
  • Stealing or financial coercion by a staff member
  • Inappropriate use of restrictive practices
  • Unexplained absence from care


A reportable incident should be categorised as Priority 1 if it caused, or could have caused, physical or psychological injury to a consumer that required medical or psychological treatment. Incidents that involve contact with the police, a consumer’s unexplained absence from the service, or the unexpected death of a consumer or are also classified as Priority 1. All other reportable incidents that do not meet the criteria for a Priority 1 incident are categorised as Priority 2.


Find out more about the SIRS guidelines for residential aged care providers.