The first Serious Incident Response Scheme (SIRS) insight report found that in the first six weeks of the scheme, the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission received 4,496 notifications from providers of residential aged care. After reviewing each of these notifications, it was determined that just 42 percent met the criteria for Priority 1 incidents, with many of the remaining incidents meeting the criteria for a Priority 2 incident (which do not require reporting until after 1 October 2021).

These findings have found that many residential aged care providers remain uncertain as to how to appropriately classify and report SIRS incidents to the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission. The report also indicated that organisations are continuing to adjust to the new incident management system requirements and review their approach to the SIRS.

To assist our partner providers in these areas, MOA has developed a new Incident Reporting module that provides subscribers with a platform to enter, monitor and review reportable incidents under the SIRS. Users of the module can log, view, and develop reports that assist in:

  • Detailing the incident
  • Understanding how and why the incident happened
  • Reviewing what can be done to reduce the risk of recurrence and support safer care
  • Understanding what was learned from the incident
  • Sharing the learnings

The module also features guidance on Priority classification, using the information you have entered to classify your incident as Priority 1 or Priority 2.

Providers can also access our SIRS Incident Review SPOT tool that enables on-the-go assessments of reportable incidents to ensure they are being managed and documented in line with SIRS requirements.

Please contact the MOA Team to add the Incident Reporting Module to your current MOA subscription and to access a one month trial, free!


More information about SIRS

In response to the findings of the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety, the SIRS has been introduced to minimise the risk of abuse and neglect of older Australians residing in aged care services. The SIRS establishes new requirements for approved providers of residential aged care to manage, and take appropriate action to prevent, incidents, giving priority to the health, well-being, safety and quality of life of aged care consumers.

For providers of residential care, the SIRS will take effect in two stages. Stage 1, which commenced 1 April 2021, requires providers of residential aged care and flexible care in residential settings to report Priority 1 incidents within 24 hours of becoming aware of the incident. From 1 October 2021, all reportable incidents must be assessed as either Priority 1 or Priority 2 incidents, and services will also need to report all Priority 2 reportable incidents to the Aged Care Commission within 30 days of becoming aware of the incident. The SIRS is also set to expand into home and community-based care from 1 July 2022.

The SIRS requires the reporting of eight types of incidents:

  • Unreasonable use of force
  • Unlawful or inappropriate sexual contact
  • Psychological or emotional abuse
  • Events that result in unexpected death
  • Stealing or financial coercion by a staff member
  • Neglect
  • Inappropriate use of physical or chemical restraint
  • A consumer’s unexplained absence

A reportable incident should be categorised as Priority 1 if it caused, or may have caused, physical or psychological injury to a consumer that required medical or psychological treatment. Incidents that involve contact with the police or a consumer’s unexplained absence from the service, or that lead to the unexpected death of a consumer or are also to be classified as Priority 1. All other reportable incidents that do not meet the criteria for a Priority 1 incident are to be categorised as Priority 2.

Access the SIRS guidelines for residential providers here.