To support providers to comply with the new incident management and SIRS requirements taking effect from April 1, MOA has released a dedicated Incident Management audit. The Incident Management audit allows residential and home care providers to self-assess against the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission’s new incident management guidelines and, for residential care providers, SIRS requirements.

Providers can also access our SIRS Incident Review tool that enables on-the-spot assessments of reportable incidents to ensure they are being managed and documented in line with SIRS requirements.

Fill in the details below for a free one-month trial of the MOA platform; including access to the SIRS tools:


More information about SIRS

From 1 April, all residential aged care providers must comply with new incident management requirements set out in the Quality of Care Principles 2014 and Aged Care Act 1997. This includes new mandatory reporting requirements under the Serious Incident Response Scheme (SIRS).


SIRS significantly expands the categorisation of reportable incidents to include:

  • Unreasonable use of force
  • Unlawful sexual contact or inappropriate sexual conduct
  • Psychological or emotional abuse
  • Unexpected death
  • Stealing or financial coercion by a staff member
  • Neglect
  • Inappropriate physical or chemical restraint
  • Unexplained absence from care


SIRS will commence in two stages. From 1 April 2021, all providers of residential aged care and flexible care in residential settings are required to have an effective incident management system in place. This includes:

  • Documented policies, procedures and processes that define how the organisation identifies, responds to, and learns from incidents
  • Tools for collecting and recording data about incidents
  • Staff training in incident management processes
  • Effective governance and oversight of the incident management system


Residential aged care providers will also be required to report Priority 1 incidents to the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission (ACQSC) within 24 hours of the incident occurring. A Priority 1 reportable incident is one:

  • that causes, or could reasonably have been expected to have caused, a consumer physical or psychological injury or discomfort that requires medical or psychological treatment to resolve, or
  • where there are reasonable grounds to report the incident to police, or
  • that is a consumer’s unexpected death or a consumer’s unexplained absence from the service.


Examples of Priority 1 reportable incidents include events that result in:

  • Consumer distress that requires counselling
  • Injuries that require treatment by a nurse or doctor, or attendance at a hospital
  • Significant bruising
  • Head or brain injuries


From 1 October 2021, all reportable incidents must be assessed as either Priority 1 or Priority 2 incidents. Providers will also need to commence reporting all Priority 2 incidents to the ACQSC within 30 days of the incident occurring. This will include reportable incidents that are assessed by the provider as resulting in a low level of harm to the consumer, such as brief distress or temporary marks that do not bruise.