the NDIS Commission announced a range of changes to the Standards, based on recent inquiries and reviews, including evidence given to the Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability. As of 15 November, disability support providers are required to meet new and amended requirements under the National Disability Insurance Scheme (Quality Indicators) Guidelines 2018.

  • Emergency and disaster management (core)
  • Mealtime management (core)
  • Severe dysphagia management (high-intensity daily personal activities)


Changes have also been made across a range of core and supplementary modules, including:

  • Core module
    • Person-centred Supports
    • Risk Management
    • Human Resource Management
    • Continuity of Supports
    • Support Planning
    • Service Agreements with Participants
    • Responsive Support Provision
    • Transitions to or from a provider (Previously Transitions to or from the provider)
    • Safe Environment
    • Management of Waste
  • Early childhood supports
    • The child
  • Verification module
    • Human resource management
    • Risk management


Additional updates have also been made across a range of core modules as well as supplementary modules for Early Childhood Supports and Verification, with key changes including the introduction of infection prevention and control indicators and insurance requirements for all providers.

To support providers through their implementation of these new requirements, MOA has released a free bridging tool for all NDIS providers, helping them to proactively identify and address gaps in their systems, processes and practices.


Access the free bridging tool by registering your interest below.

Current MOA members can access the bridging tool on their dashboard now.